Arrow ImageAcute, PICU and Rapid Response

Posted on Sep 1 2022 by Fiona Bailey

A trio of new people who have more than 100 years combined experience within the workplace are joining St Andrew’s Healthcare as Non-Executive Directors (NED).  

Dawn Brodrick, Karen Turner and Stephen Shrubb join the St Andrew’s board during an exciting period of change for the Charity as it looks to improve on the progress made over the last few years.

Karen, who will take up the role in September, has an extensive career which has included time in hospitals, health and local authorities, including Director of Prevention at NHS England and NHS Improvement; Director of Mental Health, at NHS England, and Director of Mental Health, Disability and Equalities, in the Department of Health.

Karen currently holds non-executive roles at the Royal College of Psychiatrists, Evelina Women and Children’s Services, Guys and St Thomas’s Trust, and Strength and Learning through Horses.

In recent years, Karen was a Member of the Health and Social Care Committee’s Independent Panel on Mental Health, where she helped undertake an appraisal of government commitments on mental health and supported the Secretariat in the production of a written assessment of progress.

Karen will be joined by Dawn who also starts her role in September. Dawn is an accomplished Board level Executive Director and Chief People Officer.

She has a wide range of experience within Local Government, where she was a Board Member and Director of People and Change at the Department for Communities and Local Government, and more recently was Chief People Officer at Kings NHS Foundation Trust.

She is a Fellow of the Institute of personnel and development (CIPD), has a Masters in Strategic HR and was awarded with a Companion of the Order of the Bath (CB) in the 2015 honours round for services to the public sector. She is currently Chief People Officer for the Crown Prosecution Service.   

Dawn has deep experience of organisational transformation in large, regulated public service providers which will be of real value to the Charity. Dawn will also Chair St Andrew’s People Committee, one of the Board’s sub-committees.

The third and final person to join the St Andrew’s Board is Stephen who will take up the role in October, heading up the Quality and Safety Committee. Stephen is a former nurse who has a long-standing track record in mental health and has progressed to significant leadership roles in mental health providers, as well as in national bodies. He began his career as a mental health nurse in 1980 and went on to work for the NHS for more than 40 years before retiring in 2015.

During his tenure with the NHS he held roles including Regional Director for the National Institute for Mental Health for England (NIMHE) and was Chief Executive of the West London Mental Health Trust.

The St Andrew’s Board is a unitary body, which was established in 2004. It is comprised of NEDs and executive directors who are employed by the Charity.

The Board is responsible for setting and delivering the Charity’s strategy and supervising the management of St Andrew’s Healthcare, ensuring it complies with its legal and regulatory obligations.

To find out more about St Andrew’s Healthcare's Leadership team, click here.