St Andrew's Healthcare Executive Team

St Andrew’s Healthcare is led by its Executive Team, overseen by the Board and, in turn, the Court of Governors.

The Executive team meets every week and is responsible for devising and delivering St Andrew’s Healthcare's strategic aims for the future. It makes sure that the strategy is clear and that performance and progress are effectively managed and monitored.

The Charity’s Executive team is made up of: 

Peter Winslow, Executive Chairman

Peter Winslow, CBE, was Group Chief Executive of BGL Group Limited from 1997 to July 2013. He joined BGL Group in 1995 as Deputy Managing Director.

Previously he was Chief Executive of HarperCollins and Group Finance, and Operations Director of Thorsons Publishing Group. Peter took on the role of Chairman of BGL Group Limited in July 2013.

Board member and Trustee since 2007.


Martin Beer, Chief Financial Officer

Martin Beer established his career across more than 20 years, leading business growth in nationally and globally significant organisations including Unigate, Uniq and Braemar Shipping Services.

Specialising in profit improvement, corporate acquisitions and business recovery, Martin joined St Andrew’s Healthcare as Chief Finance Officer in June 2016.

Appointed as a Trustee: 4 July 2016.


Sanjith Kamath, Executive Medical Director

Dr Sanjith Kamath has been a Consultant Psychiatrist since 2007, working in both the NHS and the private sector before joining St Andrew's Healthcare in 2012. He has an interest in service development and is also a Founding Fellow of the Faculty of Medical Leadership and Management. He also has a MBA.

Sanjith became Clinical Director for the Women’s Mental Health Pathway in 2015 and has been involved in developing new services including establishing our Women’s Psychiatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU) last year. More recently, he has been heavily involved in implementing outcomes driven, value-based healthcare across the charity.

Appointed as a Trustee: 1 May 2018


Dean Howells, Exec Director of Nursing/Operations

Dean Howells was appointed as the Executive Director of Nursing and Quality in June 2016, taking up the additional responsibility for operations in February 2017. His prior role was Executive Director of Nursing, Quality and Patient Experience at Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, where he provided leadership to more than 5,000 nursing staff.

Dean has worked across a wide variety of clinical pathways including High Secure Services at Rampton Hospital, where he led and facilitated a CQC rating of 'Outstanding' for care and a nationally recognised service user and carer involvement team. Dean was appointed Queen’s Nurse in 2014 for his commitment to high standards of practice and patient-centred care.

Appointed as a Trustee: 29 July 2016.

Martin Kersey, Executive Director of HR

Martin Kersey joined St Andrew's Healthcare in November 2014 from Rentokil Initial, where he had been Divisional Human Resources Director, responsible for business transformation, since 2011.

Prior to that, Martin held senior HR positions at Mediabrands, Mayborn Group, Burger King and Hertz.

Appointed as a Trustee: 17 November 2014.



Claire Carless, General Counsel/Company Secretary

Claire Carless joined the Executive Team at St Andrew's Healthcare in 2016 as General Counsel and Company Secretary. An accomplished lawyer and General Counsel, Claire has substantial experience in managing complex corporate and commercial projects, and ensuring effective corporate governance, for major global corporates. 

Having started her career in private practice, Claire went on to hold senior roles in RWE and Vodafone. Her most recent position was General Counsel for Siemens plc in the UK. 

Claire spent four years as a non-executive director for South Central Ambulance Service NHS Trust, and is currently a member of the Audit and Scrutiny Committee for the University of Oxford.

Appointed as Company Secretary: 3 October 2016.