St Andrew's Healthcare Board of Directors

The St Andrew's Healthcare Board is a unitary body, which was established in 2004 following an application to the Charity Commission. It currently comprises six non-executive directors, and six executive directors (listed on the Leadership page) who are employed by the Charity. Other than Dr Michael Harris, the non-executive directors are unpaid.

The Board is responsible for:

  • Setting and delivering the Charity’s strategy
  • Supervising the management of the Charity
  • Ensuring that the Charity complies with its legal and regulatory obligations
  • Reporting to the Court of Governors.

There are three committees of the Board: the Audit and Risk Committee, the Remuneration Committee and the Nominations Committee. These comprise non-executive directors, and in some cases, a Governor representative. These committees all report to the Board.

Peter Winslow, Executive Chairman

Peter Winslow, CBE, was Group Chief Executive of BGL Group Limited from 1997 to July 2013. He joined BGL Group in 1995 as Deputy Managing Director.

Previously he was Chief Executive of HarperCollins and Group Finance, and Operations Director of Thorsons Publishing Group. Peter took on the role of Chairman of BGL Group Limited in July 2013.

Governor since 2005.
Board member and Trustee since 2007.
Chairman since 2014.


Stuart Richmond-Watson, Non-Executive Director

Stuart Richmond-Watson is a Director and Fund Manager at LaSalle Investment Management. He is Chairman of The National Horseracing Museum in Newmarket.

Governor since 1987.
Board member and Trustee since 1995.



Jane Forman Hardy, Non-Executive Director

Jane Forman Hardy served on the Parole Board, the Mental Health Act Commission (now Care Quality Commission) and the Hospital Advisory Committee at Rampton Hospital. She was Pro-Chancellor of Nottingham University Council and a Director of English Touring Opera. She is currently a Director of a family business, a Magistrate, a member of the Independent Monitoring Board of Nottingham Prison and a Governor of the Harrow School Foundation.

Governor since 2008.
Board member and Trustee since 2014.


Frances Jackson, Non-Executive Director

Frances Jackson has been involved in the not-for-profit sector for many years after early careers first in energy policy and later in finance at Citicorp, following Stanford Business School. She is Chairman of the Trustees of the Institute for Food, Brain and Behaviour, served on the Development Board of the National Portrait Gallery for 10 years and was a member of the steering committee for the Ashmolean’s £60m capital campaign. She served on the Independent Monitoring Board at Grendon and Springhill for six years, and is involved with various local charities.

Governor since 2009.
Board member and Trustee since 2014.


Dr Michael Harris, Clinical Non-Executive Director

Dr Michael Harris has returned to St Andrew's Healthcare after serving here as a Medical Director and Deputy CEO between 1995 and 2001. Prior to his return to the Charity, he was Chief Executive of Nottinghamshire Healthcare. He specialises in general adult and forensic psychiatry and has been a consultant with Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust since 1982.

Dr Harris is a Trustee of the Lucy Faithfull Foundation and Chair of Integritas, a charity based in Nottingham.

Board member and Trustee since 2015.


Paul Parsons, Non-Executive Director

Paul Parsons was formerly senior partner of Greenwoods Solicitors, from which he retired in 2013 having practiced as a solicitor for over 30 years. Paul is a trustee of the Northamptonshire Community Foundation, a governor of Blakesley C of E Primary School and church warden. He was formerly a member of the Independent Monitoring Board at HM Prison Woodhill.

Board member and Trustee since 2017.